Curriculum Info

[tabs] [tab title=”New Primary Curriculum”]

New Primary Curriculum

The Government have released a New National Curriculum which is to be implemented from September 2014. The intention is to introduce the essential knowledge that children need to be educated citizens. It aims to introduce pupils to the best that has been thought and said; and to help engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement. Details of the programmes of study for the National Curriculum can be found at:

More information for parents about the new NC can be found at

We use a ‘creative curricular’ theme based approach to teaching and learning.  See our

for each class. The statutory curriculum is supplemented with Forest School, Sports and Values for Life Programmes. We also offer a full range of extra curricular activities.

[/tab] [tab title=”Early Years Curriculum”]

Early Years Curriculum

At Layston, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage, as set out in Early Years Statutory Framework 2021. The Early Years Foundation Stage is recognised as a separate stage of learning that sets the foundations for when children begin more formal education. There is an emphasis on learning through active play, where the children are encouraged to build on their individual needs and interests. It is broken down into 7 areas of learning. The Prime Areas are the fundamental parts of development which children need in order to develop fully in all of the other Specific Areas of learning.

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas of Learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

At Layston, our curriculum encourages the children to be independent  learners. We help children to develop in all 7 areas of learning. At the end of the year, we assess children against the Early Learning Goals and create the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile.

Children are taught how to use our engaging and well-organised environment, and develop their skills and interests through lots of time to play and create in it over the year. We enhance the environment over the year.  We also have periods of direct teaching every day. Children learn phonics through the Read Write Inc Programme and maths through the White Rose programme in line with the rest of the school. Children also take part in a morning of Forest School every week, and Music and P.E. sessions with specialist teachers.

[/tab] [tab title=”Curriculum News”]

Curriculum News

[/tab] [/tabs]